Our Board of Directors, Supervisory Committee and senior management are careful stewards of the resources our members put in their care. They believe in governing the Credit Union to provide the maximum value to members of Schools Financial and are truly committed to the philosophy, “People Helping People.”

Board of Directors

Marie B. SmithMarie B. Smith
Marie was elected to the Board of Directors in August 2008 and has been a member of the Credit Union since 1995. She earned her Bachelor of Arts degree from San Francisco State University, her graduate degree from Sonoma State University and Doctorate of Education degree in higher education management from the University of San Francisco. After working nine years as the President of American River College, Dr. Smith served as Vice Chancellor for Los Rios Community College District for three years. Dr. Smith retired from the Los Rios Community College District in 2007.


Theresa MatistaTheresa Matista
Vice Chair
Theresa has been a Schools Financial member since 1996. She was elected to the Board of Directors in May 2004. Theresa earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Finance from Santa Clara University and her Master of Business Administration degree from California State University, Sacramento. Theresa has worked for the Los Rios Community College District for 21 years. She currently serves as the Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration at the Los Rios Community College District.


Doug SatoDouglas Sato
Douglas brings a strong financial background, having been an auditor for Coopers & Lybrand for three years, an operations control manager at Los Rios Community College District for three years and the owner of a CPA firm for 32 years.



Dolores BleekmanDolores Bleekman
Dolores Bleekman has been a member of Schools Financial Credit Union since 1967. When the Credit Union’s Ambassador Program was introduced in 1994, she was selected to participate in the program. In 1999 Dolores became a Member-At-Large and served on the Personnel Committee. In 2001 she was elected to the Supervisory Committee where she served as Secretary and most recently as Chairman. She was elected to the Board of Directors in 2010. Dolores holds an undergraduate degree from Eastern Michigan University and a graduate degree from University of LaVerne. She retired in 1993 after a 30-year teaching career and continued as a substitute teacher until 2003.


Emilio MartinezEmilio Martinez
Emilio has been a member of Schools Financial since 1967. He was elected to the Supervisory Committee in 1993, elected Secretary to that Committee in 1997, and Chairman in 2001. In 2004, Emilio was elected to the Board of Directors. Emilio earned his Bachelor of Science degree from Central Michigan University and his graduate degree from the University of San Francisco. After working for six years as a teacher and Sacred Heart Credit Union volunteer in Saginaw, Michigan, Emilio moved to California. He taught in the San Juan Unified School District for 29 years before retiring in 1995.


Luther NolenLuther Nolen
Luther brings a strong educational background, holding a Doctorate (EdD) from the University of San Francisco and having been a professor at American River College for 29 years.



Gregory A. SmithGregory A. Smith, CCUV, CUERME
Greg began volunteering at Schools Financial as a Member-at-Large in 1997, was elected to the Supervisory Committee in 2005, and the Board of Directors in 2017. He earned his Bachelor of Science degree from the University of San Francisco. For his extensive coursework in the Credit Union National Association’s Volunteers Achievement Program, he was recognized with the Dora Maxwell Award, the program’s highest honor. Further training enabled him to earn his Certified Credit Union Volunteer (CCUV) and Credit Union Enterprise Risk Management Expert (CUERME) designations. Greg is a veteran of the USAF, the Oakland Police Department, and has been an entrepreneur. He has been an owner of land development, home building and real estate brokerage companies, plus a 160-seat restaurant, and was a licensed vehicle dealer. Greg is also a Certified Hospice Volunteer and a private pilot. Within the EAA Young Eagles program, he has voluntarily flown over 100 youths ages 8–17 enabling them to experience the Spirit of Aviation.TM



Supervisory Committee

Kathleen McCreeryKathleen McCreery
Chair, Supervisory Committee
Kathleen McCreery joined Schools Financial in 2010, the same year she became a Member-at-Large. In 2016, Kathleen was elected as a member of the Supervisory Committee. She received her B.S. in Liberal Arts, Reading Specialist Credential and M.A. in Education from Cal Poly, Pomona. Her education continued at Cal State Fullerton, where she earned an Administrative Credential in Leadership. Kathleen taught elementary, junior high and high school prior to becoming a principal. She has also held the positions of Pupil Services Specialist, Project Director for Beginning Teacher Support and Assistance (BTSA), Director of Educational Services and Chair of the Association of California Schools Administrators (ACSA) State CIA Council and Assistant Executive Director for Educational Services. Kathleen currently serves as Executive Director of the California Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (CASCD) and is a member of ACSA, Computer Using Educators (CUE) and Technology Information Center for Administrative Leaders (TICAL).


George BleekmanGeorge Bleekman
Secretary, Supervisory Committee
George has been a member of the Credit Union since 1967. After volunteering on Schools Financial’s Credit Committee in the early 1970s and as an Ambassador in the mid-1990s, George was selected to serve as a Member-At-Large in 1999. During the ensuing 11 years, George has served as a Member-At-Large on the following committees: Savings Loans Products and Services, Personnel, Facilities, Marketing and most recently the Supervisory Committee. In October 2010, George was elected to be a Member of the Supervisory Committee. George holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Education from the University of Michigan. Awarded a National Science Foundation Fellowship to the University of Oregon, he earned a Master of Science degree in Advanced Biology. In 1993 he retired as Professor emeritus of Biology from American River College, where he taught for 25 years.


George BleekmanCathryn Morgan
Member, Supervisory Committee
A member since 1979, Cathryn Morgan has been a Member-at-Large volunteer since 2003. She has served on several committees, including Marketing, Personnel and facilities. Cathryn graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in education from San Diego State University, and earned a Master of Arts degree in math and science from Fresno Pacific University. For more than 35 years, she worked as a teacher, substitute teacher and principal.



Executive Management

Tim Marriott


Todd DeVoogd
Senior Vice President,
Finance and Administration/CFO


Erin Fritz
Vice President,
Payment Systems


Cathy Grimes
Vice President,


Tom Kuang
Vice President,


Steve Langley
Senior Vice President,
Member Services/CRO


Eric Lindstrom
Senior Vice President,
Information Services/CIO


Lisa Mackay
Vice President,
Human Resources and


Erik Sordahl
Vice President,
Consumer Lending


Jason Stiles
Vice President,
Real Estate Lending